Grace Notes: Oxford concert

On February 6th, the concert I’ve been constantly blogging about finally happened! I set off early and got a coach to Oxford so I was in the city centre by about 10am.

I met my brother Sam and we made our way to the Music Faculty to rehearse. We first had an hour on our own to work out any final kinks in the Bach Oboe and Violin Concerto. Then we both met with our accompanists and had a chance to rehearse. Barney and I worked particularly hard on getting emotion into the pieces and making sure all of the rubato was perfectly in sync.

In the late afternoon Sam and I headed over to St Peters Chapel to rehearse with the orchestra. This was very exciting for me as I hadn’t had the chance to do this and I was excited to meet all the musicians. The rehearsal went well and made me really look forward to doing concert!

After meeting our parents and a few of our friends for a quick dinner, we went back to the Chapel to get dressed and set up for the audience.

Overall the concert went well. Sam started with the Saint-Saens oboe sonata and played beautifully. I was very nervous for my first two pieces, but by the time I got to my third (Nigun by Bloch) I managed to calm myself down, settle into it and enjoy myself. The double concerto went well and Sam and I managed to play well together.

received_10208917745080433

The Bach Oboe and Violin concerto

Afterwards we got really good feedback from the audience, which is always nice to hear. Overall I did enjoy the concert and I think I’ve taken a huge step forward in terms of performance anxiety. Hopefully this concert will lead to more opportunities to play concerts in St Peter’s sue to the connection made through this performance.

received_1682246278659000

My family and I after the concert. We were all very pleased and a little relieved!

The best part about this concert is that we managed to raise £150 for the National Youth Orchestra of Wales through everyone’s kind donations. Thank you so much to everyone who played!

Leave a Reply

