Grace Notes: Two very different ways of appreciating Bob Dylan…

Last night, just after finishing dinner and washing up, I wander into the kitchen where my Dad is listening to BBC Radio 4. Playing is a program called ‘The Freewheelin’ Mitch Benn’ where Mitch looks back at how Bob Dylan changed the face of the singer/songwriter with hilarious anecdotes and awesome imitations of his style of singing.

When I was about 3, we didn’t own much music. I mainly listened to ‘Troed yn Taro’ (a collection of Welsh nursery songs), The Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band, and Bob Dylan. In fact, I loved Bob so much that I honoured him by naming my doll (with big blue eyes and luscious blonde curls) Dylan after him. I mainly listened to the albums ‘Highway 61 Revisited’ and ‘Blood on the Tracks’ and hearing them again all these years later I remember a surprising amount of the songs! One of my favourites is ‘Ballad of a Thin Man’ from the album ‘Highway 61 Revisited’.

I really enjoyed ‘The Freewheelin’ Mitch Benn’ because he was light and funny in his approach to the material and made some observations about Bob that had my Dad and me laughing out loud. If you fancy taking a listen it’s available on the BBC website here.

Hope you’re all having a good summer! I’m currently trying to get back into practice and not get too distracted by all the other, less stressful options like sewing, meeting friends or eating…..

One thought on “Grace Notes: Two very different ways of appreciating Bob Dylan…

Leave a Reply

