Grace Notes: Soundtrack to sewing

Over the Easter weekend, I was at home in Cardiff having a few quiet days off. I wanted a break from the craziness of London and decided that I should try and make something over the bank holiday (I’ve always been really into crafts). Inspired by ‘The Great British Sewing Bee’ I decided to have a go at making a garment. I’ve spent the majority of the last three days in the dining room surrounded by scraps of fabric making a top. (I’m rather pleased with the end result if I do say so myself!)

IMAG0446 IMAG0448

While I was sewing I’ve had music on in the background. Due to the fact I was sewing in my parents house, only their music was available to play. This however meant that I spent the weekend re-living the soundtrack to my childhood. Pink Floyd, Sting, Cerys Matthews, David Bowie and Leonard Cohen all made an appearance. When I was growing up I had rather strange tastes and mainly listened to music that my parents listened to, rarely stuff in the charts. On the plus side, I now have a very broad range of music that I like and know about, but there’s a rather large gap in my life where I don’t know any of the popular songs from the late 90’s, much to the horror of my friends!

Ever since I first listened to them, I’ve loved Pink Floyd. Their music is interesting and complex that you can listen again and again and notice new things every time. I particularly like the song ‘Echos’ as the tune and lyrics are beautifully haunting (when they eventually come in…!), but the introduction is great too! Those sonar bleeps and gradually fading in introduction ease you into (and out of) the song and leave you with an amazing sense of calm.

We have a collection of Sting’s greatest hits, which was great to have a sing along to, but my favourite Sting album is ‘The Last Ship’. I wrote a blog about it here. I also thoroughly enjoyed listening to David Bowie. I am probably one of the few people my age who knows all the words the ‘Ziggy Stardust’ and David Bowie has been a permanent fixture on my iPod for a long time! I love listening to how his music develops as styles change. I have to say ‘Life on Mars’, ‘Space Oddity’ and ‘Ziggy Stardust’ are possibly three of my favourite songs ever.

This weekend was just what I needed. After a crazy term, I had a chance to listen to some of my childhood albums, and learn a new skill! I enjoyed the sewing (and I’m super proud of the top I made) and it was great to revisit some of my favourite albums! I wonder if you had a similar soundtrack to your childhood as me?…

Leave a Reply

