Grace Notes: Music of the Week – October 3rd

Welcome to my first Music of the Week segment! The plan here is to share a couple of pieces that I’ve been enjoying over the seven days or so.

I’d like to start with Dvorak’s 12th string quartet, also known as the American Quartet. My quartet (http://www.horizonquartet.co.uk/) have recently started rehearsing this piece and I am enjoying it a lot as there are some great second violin bits. Throughout the quartet there are catchy  and lyrical melodies, making it very accessible – even to people who don’t listen to a lot of classical music. I particularly like the way that this piece paints pictures in my head. For example, the first movement reminds me of going down a river and watching nature drift by. The whole of the quartet takes part in the ‘painting’ of the scene, which, enhances the listening experience and makes it much more fun to work on in rehearsals!

The second piece of music I’d like to share is a song that I was listening to on the way to the wedding last week. I have been a fan of the Pet Shop Boys for a very long time and at the moment I think this is one of my favourite songs of theirs. It is ‘Can you Forgive her?’ recorded for their album ‘Very’ in 1993. I love how dramatic this song is, and it’s seriously catchy with a great chorus.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

